‘Imagine what we could do together:’ Rihanna inspires at 51st NAACP Image Awards

  • Rihanna delivered a moving speech at the 51st National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Image Awards
  • She is this year’s recipient of the President’s Award
  • The singer shared that if there is something she learned from the foundation she started, it is that ‘we can fix the world together’

International popstar and philanthropist Rihanna delivered an inspiring speech about unity as she received the President’s Award at the 51st National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Image Awards.

Image via Instagram | Rihanna

Rihanna, who started nonprofit organization Clara Lionel Foundation in 2012, said that the most important lesson she learned is that “We can fix this world together. We can’t do it divided. I can’t emphasize that enough.”

“We can’t let the de-sensitivity seep in. The, ‘If it’s your problem, then it’s not mine; it’s a woman’s problem; it’s a black people problem; it’s a poor people problem,'” Rihanna said.

This is why she encouraged the crowd to tell their friends to “pull up” when they are marching, protesting, and posting about their call for justice for the marginalized.

She also thanked the organization for their efforts to promote and ensure equality.

“Thank you for celebrating our strength and tenacity. We’ve been denied opportunities since the beginning of time and still, we prevail so I am honored,” she said. “Imagine what we could do together.”

Image via Instagram | Rihanna

According to NAACP, the award is “presented in recognition of special achievement and distinguished public service.

“Rihanna has not only enjoyed a groundbreaking career as an artist and musician but has also distinguished herself as a stellar public servant. From her business achievements through Fenty to her tremendous record as an activist and philanthropist, Rihanna epitomizes the type of character, grace, and devotion to justice that we seek to highlight in our President’s Award,” NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson said.

Other notable former recipients of the prestigious award are Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter, Jesse Jackson, Lauryn Hill, Soledad O’Brien, Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice, and Muhammad Ali, among others.

Sources: BET, NAACP